Life Without An Aux Cord: Toxic

Well…this is still happening.

I am still trying to keep this series going, and the fact that this blog is actually being posted before Sunday at 11 PM means that I am surprisingly giving it a good attempt. I know that my few avid readers, shout out to the three or four of you, may see this earlier-than-usual post and be shocked, but I have high hopes that this will be a really good one. Fingers crossed. Well, you cross your fingers, I have to keep mine uncrossed so that I can type.

Now that that horrible joke is passed, let me get onto the song this week. The song for this week is Toxic by Britney Spears. Yeah, they are still playing that song on the radio, and no it was not during retro lunch. For some reason Britney Spears is coming back. Did you know she has her own Vegas show now?! I guess now that she is somewhat normal again, people are starting to pay attention in hopes of seeing her go crazy again. Whatever it is, it is causing her old songs to resurface, specifically Toxic. After hearing the song, I looked up the lyrics and not surprisingly they are very dirty. I decided just to go with it though. The relation between my life and the song this week is going to be much less of stretch than last weeks, which I know is not as fun, but it is just as applicable to college life. And again, this will have nothing to do with my love life or lack thereof.

I will be focused mainly on the second part of the chorus, “I’m addicted to you/Don’t you know that you’re toxic/And I love what you do/Don’t you know that you’re toxic,” because it is the least dirty part of the song, but mainly because they relate really well to what I am going to talk about. If you have not guessed it by now, I will be talking about my addiction to watching TV and videos on my laptop. This ranges from Netflix to Hulu to YouTube and to any other source I use to watch TV. This stupid habit takes up so much of my time. I do not watch anything when it actually comes on TV because normally I am busy doing something else, but instead of just deciding not to watch TV at all, I watch the shows the next day on the internet and waste time that I do not have. You know, I do not think I could focus on any school work though if I did not know that Leslie got her job back at the parks department in Parks and Rec. I will literally get home after class, think about all of the work I need to do, and then realize what TV shows came out that day or remember the cliff hanger from the episode I just finished the day before, and it is all downhill from there. You would think that I would have some self control, but when it comes to this weeks Dunphy hijinks, I just cannot help myself. Eventually,  I will catch up with everything or get bored of staring at the screen and do my homework, but that normally does not happen until it is dark outside. I have also recently gotten really in to YouTube. There are people on it who literally make funny videos once a week and get paid big bucks for it. (Where do I sign up?) I will find myself go onto YouTube to watch these videos and then a couple hours later my computer will die and I will finally be able to pull myself away. I will even keep up with some vloggers (that’s what their job title is, how cool) like I do TV shows. A vlogger named ItsGrace (Grace Helbig, go watch her, she’s kinda funny) makes videos everyday, so everyday I will watch her new video. It’s bad. Watching all of this stuff is just toxic. Here is where the song lyrics come in. Just like Britney, I am addicted to you…tube and watching TV on the internet. Britney asks if her guy knows that he is toxic, but I do not need to ask that, because the internet has no mind, so obviously it does not know that it is toxic. And finally, just like Britney likes the things her man does, which probably means buying her flowers and walking her home at night but not asking to stay the night, I like the things YouTube, Netflix, Hulu, and other television sites do for me: keep me up to date with all my shows and keep me entertained. I know it is not the greatest way to spend my time, but just like Britney, “Its getting late/To give [it] up.” I cannot stop now, I’m already hooked and it would be tragic to not know how all of my shows finish this season.

Okay, that’s it for this week. I do want to end with a disclaimer though: to anyone reading who is concerned that I am not actually getting my studies done, stop worrying. I am getting everything done, feel free to check my GPA, I just have to get my fix of internet TV before I actually get to the task at hand.

Thanks everyone for reading. I am actually really enjoying making these, and the music I am hearing from constantly having my radio on looking for songs is really entertaining. Also, anyone else who shares this addiction to internet TV with me, lets start a support group. I can YouTube support group videos to figure out how to do it and we can call it ITVAA (figure it out).

Life Without An Aux Cord