Summer of Thankfulness: Technology

Look at that, I am not too late with this one.

Today I am thankful for technology. I know many people think that technology has caused the world to be less personable and made it harder for face-to-face conversations, but I still think it is something to be appreciated. First of all, someone super smart, definitely smarter than me, comes up with an idea and then has enough knowledge to make that vision a reality. That is so cool, and bashing on technology is basically telling the creators of all the technology that we have that their life work is bad for people. That is not true, and we should not be discrediting their work, but instead thanking them for trying to make the world better and more connected, sorry if it makes your child a little less present at the dinner table (it does not take much to make a rule that says no technology during family time). Second, all the technology, especially phones, does in fact keep people more connected. Think about how hard it would be to get a group of people together last minute to go get lunch. Without technology, you would have to go to their house and knock on the door and hope that they are home so you can invite them. With technology, a person is a call or a text away and you can get a lunch set up really quickly. And you know what, if they plan to have lunch, then the technology actually helped create more face-to-face conversations. Third, technology only causes a problem when it is abused. Yeah, there are some people out there who are hermits and stay inside on the computer all day, but that is their own fault. The computer does not force them to not talk to other people. It is their own choice to stay home, and it is their own obsession with technology that causes them to not be able to have conversations with people. If we all learn to control our technology usage, then it can again be something to be glad about, not something we have to warn people to stay away from. Fourth and finally, I do not believe that technology has really done much damage to people’s ability to have one-on-one conversations. I see people all the time come together with other people they are in constant communication with on technology and be able to keep a conversation going for hours. I believe that if two people are really friends and they meet up, they will be able to talk about something. I know some people would bring up how technology prevents us from meeting new people and having conversations with strangers. I would respond with what the heck happened to stranger danger. In addition, having a conversation with someone you do not know well will always be awkward and difficult to keep going. You will never convince me differently.

I just believe that technology has gotten a bad reputation, that is not needed, the past couple of years. I do admit that there are some cases where technology has become an obsession in a person’s life and that obsession has lead to an anti-social life, but that is not the technology’s fault. We has people just need to learn some control. I am not saying I have control over my technology usage though. I am just saying that I see all the benefits of technology, like me being able to keep in touch with my college friends while I am home for the summer, so I am going to be appreciative of it instead of critical. I think everyone else should take this approach too, because it is a privilege that we get to have the gadgets and gizmos (I promise I am not a fifty year old man) that we do. It is all about the perspective we have on the issue.

Thnx technology 4 keepin us connected.

Summer of Thankfulness

Here is where you put your two cents in...